XII Tallinn Design Festival 25.09-1.10.2017



BRUNO 2016 / Product design award / Estonian Design Awards 


Since 2006, the Estonian Association of Designers has been presenting the BRUNO product design awards, with which the association wishes to present innovative high-standard new products to a wider audience, inviting Estonians to use local design, and motivating entrepreneurs to include professional designers in product development. This award is recognition for our exceptionally skilled designers, and their business partners. 

The award was named after prof Bruno Tomberg, founder of the design department at the Academy of Arts. At prof Tomberg's initiative, the Estonian Design Awards were also presented by the design department in the 1980s. The trophy for the award, which was created by Anneliis Aunapuu, and which consists of a sphere, cone and cylinder, has remained unchanged. 

Since 2012, the Estonian Design Awards have been presented in collaboration with the Estonian Association of Designers, the Estonian Design Centre, ADC*Estonia, and the Estonian Service Design Association. The Estonian Design Awards include the Bruno product design award; the SÄSI young designer award; ADC*Estonia graphic design and web design awards, and a service design award. The award ceremony for the Estonian Design Awards will take place during Tallinn's design festival, Design Night.

Bruno Product Design Award 

_The Bruno product design award is awarded to an exceptional product or product series, manufactured either at the designer's own initiative, as a collaboration, or as a commission by a manufacturer/entrepreneur. 

_Production-ready prototypes created during the past two years, or industrial products or product series already in production qualify to enter.

_All works created by designers working in companies registered in the Republic of Estonia and/or who have permanent residence and a residence and work permit can be submitted in the application for a design award.

_The evaluation will be based on product photograph(s) submitted with explanations (www.edl.ee/konkurss). The nominees selected by the jury will proceed to the next stage, and will present their products at a design awards exhibition for final evaluation. Works by selected nominees will be featured in the design yearbook.

Starting from 2016, the following changes have been made in the product design award categories.
In 2016, the Bruno product design award is presented in three main categories:

Special awards/honourable mentions are also given in each category.

The overall award, the AWARD FOR LIFE-CHANGING DESIGN is presented to a design product with the biggest influence, with assessments of the following criteria: the capability of finding solutions to topical crisis situations, and predicting future scenarios and changes in the society; the ability of creating radical changes in our everyday life, and a positive lifestyle change. It is not possible to apply for an award for life-changing design; the jury will make the selection from among the nominees.

Deadline 15th of August (till 23.59)

Apply and info HERE.